Songs of oral tradition in the Breton language
in books, reviews and manuscripts

General informations - Some definitions

Collector: This is the person who collects songs from singers.

Bearer of tradition, Source singer: This is the interpreter of the song, the person who transmitted it to the collector.

Folklorization: The process by which a song is transmitted by oral tradition and which results in the creation of multiple versions of the same song.

Song-type: Song catalogues are based on the concept of a ‘song type’. Two songs belong to the same type if they say the same thing in the same way, that is, deal with the same subject, using comparable expressions. This song-type is identified by a critical title.

Critical title: This is the title given to a song-type.

Version: A version is a song collected from a singer at a certain place and published by an "editor" (the author of the work who brought the song to public notice or the author of the manuscript where it appears). Even if the information about the singer and the place are not always mentioned by the publisher, they nevertheless are at the origin of the existence of the version.

Occurrence: A version could be the subject of several editions (by the same editor in different books, in an anthology, in a written form and then in recorded media, etc.). These are multiple occurrences of the same version.

Gwerz (plural Gwerzioù): The gwerzioù are dramatic narrative songs. Depending on the case, these are songs about historical events (wars, revolts, accidents ...), or dealing with legendary subjects (eg lives of saints, miraculous episodes ...) or fantastic legends(in relation to death, Hell ...), or relating episodes of life, destiny...
For this type of song, we often find in French the term "complainte" or in English "ballad".

Son (plural Sonioù): Sounds corresponding to lighter themes. They deal with personal feelings (love, reveries, disappointments ...) and the author is often actor, in episodes of everyday life, satirical subjects (vices, mockery ...), poems to the glory of people or the country. But, like the gwerzioù, they are songs with a rather narrative character (poetry for poetry is rare in popular Breton song).

Contact Facebook Page

Chansons de tradition orale en langue bretonne
dans les livres, revues et manuscrits

Généralités - Quelques définitions

Collecteur : C’est celui qui recueille les chants auprès d’interprètes.

Porteur de tradition : C’est l’interprète du chant, celui qui l’a transmis au collecteur.

Folklorisation : Processus par lequel une chanson se transmet par tradition orale et qui se traduit par la création de versions multiples de la même chanson.

Chant-type : Les catalogues de chansons sont basés sur la notion de chant-type. Deux chants appartiennent à un même type si elles disent la même chose de la même manière, c’est-à-dire traitent du même sujet, en utilisant des expressions comparables. Ce chant-type est identifiée par un titre critique.

Titre critique : C’est le titre donné à un chant-type.

Version : Une version correspond à une chanson collectée auprès d’un interprète, en un lieu et publiée par un « éditeur » (l’auteur de l’ouvrage qui a porté la chanson à la connaissance du public ou l’auteur du manuscrit où elle figure). Même si les informations concernant l’interprète et le lieu ne sont pas toujours mentionnées par l’éditeur, elles sont néanmoins à l’origine de l’existence de la version.

Occurrence : Une version a pu faire l’objet de plusieurs éditions (par le même éditeur dans des ouvrages différents, dans une anthologie, dans une édition écrite puis sonore, etc.). Il s’agit alors d’occurrences multiples de la même version.

Gwerz (pluriel Gwerzioù) : Les gwerzioù sont des chansons narratives à caractère dramatique. Selon les cas, il s’agit de chants sur des évènements historiques (guerres, révoltes, accidents…), ou traitant de sujets légendaires (par exemples vies de saints, épisodes miraculeux…) ou fantastiques (en relation avec la mort, l’enfer…), ou relatant des épisodes de vie, de destinées… Pour ce type de chant, on trouve souvent en français le terme « complainte » ou en anglais « ballad ».

Son (pluriel Sonioù) : Les sonioù correspondent à des thèmes plus légers. Ils traitent des sentiments (amour, rêveries, déceptions…) et l’auteur y est souvent acteur, des épisodes de la vie quotidienne, des sujets satiriques (vices, moqueries…), des poèmes à la gloire de personnes ou du pays. Mais, tout comme les gwerzioù, ce sont des chants à caractère plutôt narratif (la poésie pour la poésie est rare dans la chanson populaire bretonne).

Contact Page Facebook