Songs of oral tradition in the Breton language
in books, reviews and manuscripts

General informations - Malrieu catalog
of Oral Tradition

The "Malrieu OT catalogue" (OT = Oral Tradition) is different from the "Malrieu BS catalogue" (BS = Broadsheets). These two catalogues correspond to two different types of collection.

This OT catalogue originates, initially, with a Ph.D. thesis in Celtic Studies: ‘The popular song of oral tradition in the Breton language: Contribution to the establishment of a catalogue’ (University Rennes 2 Haute Bretagne, 1998. Volume 1: Presentation of the song of oral tradition in Breton language + bibliography, 332 pp., Volume 2: Principles of analysis and computerized sorting, 280 Pp., Volume 3: Catalogue, 768 pp.). It was conceived from the beginning, around 1980 (a time when it was not yet known that microcomputers would exist), to benefit from data processing in computer science on a program written by Georges Épinette.
This catalogue can be consulted in the university library or at Dastum (16 rue de la Santé, 35000 Rennes). It cannot be considered exhaustive and is aimed first of all at testing a method for classifying Breton songs of oral tradition. Let us hope that its public availability on this site will generate new energies in order to add the unpublished printed collections and the unpublished collection kept in Dastum (about 100,000 versions of different songs!).

This work was then enriched by new occurrences and additional precisions by Didier Bécam (see Crédits) who also transposed the computer data to databases adapted to the availability on the Internet.

The proximity on the same site of the "Broadsheets" base and the "Oral tradition" base will also facilitate the passage from one to the other, knowing that certain broadsheets have become traditional or that conversely traditional songs have also been published on broadsheets. We will try later to highlight the links to be made between these two catalogues.

Notion of song-type, critical title, version, occurrence

The song catalogues are based on the concept of song-type. Two songs belong to the same type if they say the same thing in the same way, that is, deal with the same subject, using comparable expressions. This song-type is identified by a critical title and a reference of type M-xxxxx.
Note: The critical titles have been reviewed and may differ from those of the thesis.
Each collector having given a title which suits him or her to a song he or she has collected, or titled it according to the incipit (or opening words)(to which uncertainties must be added the use of often unlikely written forms), it is therefore necessary to give a title called "critical" in order to regroup the different variations of the same song and facilitate the searches.
While this is not an absolute rule, we have often tried to ensure that the title is significant to the content of the song. But some titles have become so well known that it seemed preferable to keep them as they were (for example, what to call the song about the submersion of the city of Ys otherwise than Ker Is?)..

To this notion of song-type, one must add the notions of version and occurrence.
A version is a song collected from a singer at one place and published by a "publisher" (the author of the work who brought the song to the public or the author of the manuscript where it appears). Even if the information about the singer and the place are not always mentioned by the publisher, they nevertheless are at the origin of the existence of the version. Each version of a song-type is identified by a number (1,2,3, ...). This number serves only as an identifier and has no meaning..
A version could be the subject of several editions (by the same editor in different books, in an anthology, in a written form and then in recorded audio form, etc.). These are multiple instances of the same version. The occurrences of a version are identified by a letter (a, b, c, ...) reflecting the chronology of publishing of the occurrence: occurrence "a" is the oldest.

Contact Facebook Page

Chansons de tradition orale en langue bretonne
dans les livres, revues et manuscrits

Généralités - Le catalogue Malrieu TO

Le « catalogue Malrieu TO » (TO = Tradition Orale) est différent du « catalogue Malrieu FV » (FV = feuilles volantes). Ces deux catalogues correspondant à deux types de corpus différents.

Ce catalogue TO correspond, au départ, à une thèse de doctorat en études celtiques : La chanson populaire de tradition orale en langue bretonne. Contribution à l’établissement d’un catalogue (Université Rennes 2 Haute Bretagne, 1998. Tome 1 : Présentation de la chanson de tradition orale en langue bretonne + bibliographie, 332 p. ; Tome 2 : Principes d’analyse et tris informatiques, 280 p. ; Tome 3 : Catalogue, 768 p.). Il a été conçu dès l’origine, vers 1980 (une époque où on ignorait encore qu’un jour la micro-informatique existerait), pour bénéficier d’un traitement des données en informatique sur un programme écrit par Georges Épinette.
Ce catalogue est consultable en bibliothèque universitaire ou à Dastum (16 rue de la Santé, 35000 Rennes). Il ne peut être considéré comme exhaustif et visait d’abord à tester une méthode de classement des chansons bretonnes de tradition orale. Espérons que sa mise à disposition publique sur ce site génèrera de nouvelles énergies afin d’y adjoindre les collections imprimées non encore traitées et le fonds inédit conservé à Dastum (environ 100 000 versions !).

Ce travail a ensuite été enrichi de nouvelles occurrences et précisions complémentaires par Didier Bécam (voir Crédits) qui a également transposé les données informatiques vers des bases de données adaptées à la mise à disposition sur Internet.

La proximité sur un même site de la base « Feuilles volantes » et de la base « Tradition orale » facilitera également le passage de l’une à l’autre, sachant que certaines feuilles volantes sont devenues traditionnelles ou qu’inversement des chansons traditions ont également été éditées sur feuilles volantes. Nous essaierons ultérieurement de mettre en évidence les liens à faire entre ces deux catalogues.

Notions de chant-type, titre critique, version, occurrence

Les catalogues de chansons sont basés sur la notion de chant-type. Deux chants appartiennent à un même type si elles disent la même chose de la même manière, c’est-à-dire traitent du même sujet, en utilisant des expressions comparables. Ce chant-type est identifiée par un titre critique et par une référence de type M-xxxxx.
Note : Les titres critiques ont été revus et peuvent être différents de ceux de la thèse.
Chaque collecteur ayant donné un titre à sa convenance au chant recueilli, ou titré selon l’incipit (incertitudes auxquelles il faut rajouter l’utilisation de graphies souvent improbables), il est nécessaire de donner un titre qualifié de « critique » afin de pouvoir regrouper les différentes variantes d’un même chant et faciliter les recherches.
Sans que cela soit une règle absolue, nous avons le plus souvent essayé de faire en sorte que ce titre soit significatif du contenu du chant. Mais parfois, certains titres sont devenus si connus qu’il a semblé préférable de les conserver en l’état (par exemple comment appeler le chant sur la submersion de la ville d’Ys autrement que Ker Is).

A cette notion de chant-type, il faut ajouter les notions de version et d’occurrence.
Une version correspond à une chanson collectée auprès d’un interprète, en un lieu et publiée par un « éditeur » (l’auteur de l’ouvrage qui a porté la chanson à la connaissance du public ou l’auteur du manuscrit où elle figure). Même si les informations concernant l’interprète et le lieu ne sont pas toujours mentionnées par l’éditeur, elles sont néanmoins à l’origine de l’existence de la version. Chaque version d’un chant-type est identifiée par un numéro (1,2, 3, …). Ce numéro sert uniquement d’identifiant et n’a pas de signification.
Une version a pu faire l’objet de plusieurs éditions (par le même éditeur dans des ouvrages différents, dans une anthologie, dans une édition écrite puis sonore, etc.). Il s’agit alors d’occurrences multiples de la même version. Les occurrences d’une version sont identifiées par une lettre (a, b, c, …) reflétant la chronologie d’édition des occurrences : l’occurrence « a » est la plus ancienne.

Contact Page Facebook