Songs of oral tradition in the Breton language
in books, reviews and manuscripts

General informations - Oral tradition

Songs of oral tradition (otherwise often known as folk, popular, traditional, etc ...) have often been supposed to have the following characteristics:

In fact, there is in all this as much truth as fiction, the facts and observation of practices being sufficient to bring to each presumed characteristic many counter-examples which can invalidate the supposed ‘norm’. Popular practices pay no attention to narrow theoretical definitions.
And so it is that during collecting sessions, both old and recent, one can find certain pieces of which the author is known, (by the singers themselves or by specialists), sometimes quite contemporary, composed by scholars or by ‘ordinary folk’ , with or without the famous ‘patina’ but which have become part of the popular repertoire and transmitted by the oral process.
Finally, the observation of the whole collected repertoire makes it possible to note that a large percentage of songs, unquestionably traditional, are known only by a single version (due to lack of collection or song fallen into disuse).
It must be admitted that practice shows us that the repertoire of oral tradition is:

The authors of the songs

The author is unknown for most of the songs.
However, it is interesting to note that many songs published in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries on broadsheets, or in books and magazines have become traditional. The names of the authors are then often revealed either by a signature, or by a mention in the body of the song, or by external sources. For these authors the following approximate social distribution can be seen: 30% of ecclesiastics, 50% of literate people or authors with some educational background, 14% of various professions (craftsmen, farmers, workers ...) with rudimentary educational experience, and 6% of beggars, illiterate or blind people...

It is difficult to say that this typology is the same for older songs, especially since the level of schooling evidently evolved during the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. On the other hand, certain songs specify, in the text, that they were written by a "cleric". Others show literary characteristics (traces of learned poetry with the use of the ancient technique of internal rhymes) which attest to the literary origin of their author. For some of them, we also find complete verses identical to ancient literary poems (12th -13th centuries) of the Celtic literature of the British Isles ... Others correspond to the version in Breton of traditional songs of the European or French-speaking repertoire.

It is also important to mention the continuity today of the process of creating new songs which then re-enter the oral tradition process. The collections made today find them integrated into the rest of the traditional repertoire. For example, the songs of Jo Godivès, of Baud, on the peasant problems of the 1960s and evoking leading figures like Alexis Gourvennec, or songs composed by Denez Abernot on the refusal of the nuclear power plant in Plogoff (1980-81) or on the seaweed farmers ...

Dating Questions

For the majority of songs, it is impossible to determine a date of creation. This is especially true for love songs or mockeries and other ‘small songs’. Feelings have no age! The chance discovery of a song in the papers of a notary, Yves le Patézour from Pleubian, revealed that it was reputed to be a "gouers nevez" (a new ballad) in 1652 when we find the same type of production in 19th century broadsheets.

However, the traditional song in Breton has specific characteristics that are not found, or less frequently, in French song. For example, there are many complaints (gwerzioù) that tell stories that are often tragic. These songs are characterized by a taste for precision in the names of people, place or date. Dialogues have an important place here. Sometimes it is possible to find the historical episode to which the song corresponds and the analysis (linguistic, literary or contextual) generally attests to the concomitance of the song with the facts. This is particularly true for the "gwerziou", which relate events mainly between the 15th and 18th centuries. The following songs may be cited as examples: Ar volter a-enep ar Saozon 15th century, Seziz Gwengamp 1489-1591, Pried Fontanella 1602, Loeizig Er Ravalleg 1732 ...

Moreover, certain songs, nowadays of seemingly common-place form and content, can also prove to be the recycling of narratives of great antiquity - even mythological - that are found according to different epochs and continents in the form of a tale, a hagiographic legend, an exemplum, or a myth. Remarkable for the plasticity of the narrative, which is capable of adapting to changes in civilizations, religions, languages and cultures, and mode of expression, but preserving the fundamental framework of the narrative ... for example, Breur Yann Girin.

Contact Facebook Page

Chansons de tradition orale en langue bretonne
dans les livres, revues et manuscrits

Généralités - Tradition orale

Les chansons de tradition orale (ou folkloriques, populaires, traditionnelles, etc…) ont souvent été supposées avoir les caractéristiques suivantes :

En fait, il y a dans tout cela autant de vrai que de faux, les faits, l’observation des pratiques se chargeant d’apporter à chaque caractéristique présumée de nombreux contre-exemples invalidant la norme supposée. Les pratiques populaires se moquent des définitions étroites et théoriques.
Et c’est ainsi qu’à l’occasion des collectes, tant anciennes que récentes, on trouve comme devenues parties du répertoire populaire et transmises par l’oralité tout aussi bien des pièces dont l’auteur est connu (des chanteurs eux-mêmes ou de spécialistes), contemporaines, composées aussi bien par des lettrés que de « petites gens », avec ou sans la célèbre patine.
Enfin, l’observation de l’ensemble du répertoire collecté permet de constater qu’un pourcentage important de chants, indiscutablement traditionnels, n’est connu que par une seule version (pour cause de déficit de collectage ou de chant tombé en désuétude).
Force est d’admettre que la pratique nous montre que le répertoire de tradition orale est :

Les auteurs des chants

L’auteur est inconnu pour la majeure partie des chants.
Toutefois il est intéressant de noter que nombre de chansons éditées au cours du XIX e et XX e siècles sur feuilles volantes, ou dans des ouvrages et des revues sont devenues traditionnelles. Le nom des auteurs est alors souvent révélé soit par une signature, soit par une mention dans le corps de la chanson, soit par des sources extérieures. On constate alors pour ces auteurs la répartition sociale approximative suivante : 30% d’ecclésiastiques, 50% de lettrés ou d’auteurs ayant un certain bagage scolaire, 14% de professions diverses (artisans, agriculteurs, ouvriers…) se répartissant entre un niveau d’études rudimentaire ou honnête, 6% de mendiants, illettrés ou aveugles…

Il est difficile de dire que cette typologie est la même pour les chansons plus anciennes, d’autant que le niveau de scolarisation a notoirement évolué au cours du XIX e et début du XX e siècle. Par contre certains chants précisent, dans le texte, avoir été écrits par un « clerc ». D’autres montrent des caractéristiques littéraires (traces de poésie savante avec utilisation de l’ancienne technique des rimes internes) qui attestent de l’origine lettrée de leur auteur. Pour certains d’entre eux, on retrouve aussi des vers complets identiques à des poésies lettrées anciennes (XIIe-XIIIe) du domaine celtique insulaire… D’autres correspondent à la version en breton de chants traditionnels du fonds européen ou francophone.

Il est important également de mentionner la poursuite contemporaine du processus de création de nouveaux chants rentrant dans le processus de tradition orale. Les collectes faites de nos jours les trouvent intégrés au reste du répertoire traditionnel. A titre d’exemple on peut citer les chansons de Jo Godivès, de Baud, sur les problèmes paysans des années 1960 et évoquant des figures-phare comme Alexis Gourvennec, ou encore des chants composés par Denez Abernot sur le refus de la centrale nucléaire à Plogoff (1980-81) ou sur les goémoniers…

Questions de datation

Pour la majorité de chants, il est impossible de déterminer une date de création Ceci est particulièrement vrai pour les chansons d’amour ou les moqueries et autres petites chansons. Les sentiments n’ont pas d’âge ! Il faut le hasard d’une chanson retrouvée dans les papiers d’un notaire, Yves le Patézour de Pleubian, pour apprendre qu’elle était réputée être une « gouers nevez » (une nouvelle complainte) en 1652 alors qu’on trouve le même type de production dans les feuilles volantes du XIXe siècle.

Toutefois, la chanson traditionnelle en breton présente des caractéristiques spécifiques que l’on ne retrouve pas, ou moins fréquemment, dans la chanson francophone. Par exemple, il existe de nombreuses complaintes (les gwerzioù) qui racontent des histoires souvent tragiques. Ces chants se caractérisent par un goût de la précision dans les noms de personnes, de lieu ou de date. Les dialogues y ont une place importante. Parfois, il est possible de retrouver l’épisode historique auquel correspond la chanson et l’analyse (linguistique, littéraire ou contextuelle) atteste généralement de la concomitance du chant par rapport aux faits. Cela est particulièrement vrai pour les « gwerz » qui relatent des évènements principalement situés entre le XV e et XVIII e siècle. On peut citer, à titre d’exemple, les chants suivants : Ar volonter a-enep ar Saozon XVe siècle, Seziz Gwengamp 1489-1591, Pried Fontanella 1602, Loeizig Er Ravalleg 1732…

Par ailleurs, certaines chansons, aujourd’hui de forme et de contenu apparemment anodins, peuvent aussi s’avérer être le recyclage de récits de haute ancienneté – voire mythologiques – qu’on retrouve selon les époques et les continents sous forme de conte, légende hagiographique, exemplum, mythe. Remarquables par la plasticité du récit qui s’avère capable de s’adapter aux changements de civilisations, de religions, de langues et de cultures, de mode d’expression, mais conservant la trame fondamentale du récit… par exemple Breur Yann Girin.

Contact Page Facebook